Privacy Policy

Last updated November 25, 2021

The privacy of your data — and it is your data, not ours! — is a big deal to us. In this policy, we lay out: what data we collect and why; how your data is handled; and your rights to your data. We promise we never sell your data: never have, never will.

Our guiding principle is to collect only what we need. Here’s what that means in practice:

What we collect and why

Identity & Access

When you sign up as a new customer, we typically ask for identifying information such as your names, email addresses, as well as company information and floor plans. That’s so we can work together to design a functioning RFID system and personalize your account, and we can send you invoices, updates, or other essential information. We sometimes also give you the option to add a profile picture that displays in our products, but we do not normally look at or access that picture. We’ll never sell your personal info to third parties.

Billing Information

If you elect to pay by month using a credit card, we ask for your credit card and billing address. That’s so we can charge you for service, calculate taxes due, and send you invoices. Your credit card is passed directly to our payment processor and doesn’t ever go through our servers. We store a record of the payment transaction, including the last 4 digits of the credit card number and as-of billing address, for account history, invoicing, and billing support. We store your billing address to calculate any sales tax due in the United States or VAT in the EU, to detect fraudulent credit card transactions, and to print on your invoices.

Geolocation Data

We log all access to all accounts by full IP address so that we can always verify no unauthorized access has happened. We keep this login data for as long as your product account is active.

We maintain the geolocations provided by you to associate with RFID tag read data, and relate the geolocations to movements recorded by the RFID system.

Web analytics data — described further in the Website Interactions section — are also tied temporarily to IP addresses to assist with troubleshooting cases.

Website Interactions

When you browse our marketing pages or applications, your browser automatically shares certain information such as which operating system and browser version you are using. We track that information, along with the pages you are visiting, page load timing, and which website referred you for statistical purposes like conversion rates and to test new designs. We sometimes track specific link clicks to help inform some design decisions. These web analytics data are tied to your IP address and user account if applicable and you are signed into our Services.

We additionally utilize a small number of third-party web analytics programs to help us manage and improve the Services. This includes, for example, functions such as monitoring page load and web-requested database query times.

Cookies and Do Not Track

We do use persistent first-party cookies to store certain preferences, make it easier for you to use our applications, and support some in-house analytics. A cookie is a piece of text stored by your browser to help it remember your login information, site preferences, and more. You can adjust cookie retention settings in your own browser. To learn more about cookies, including how to view which cookies have been set and how to manage and delete them, please visit: www.allaboutcookies.org. At this time, our sites and applications do not respond to Do Not Track beacons sent by browser plugins.

When we access or share your information

Our default practice is to not access your information. The only times we’ll ever access or share your info are:

Identity & Access

To provide products or services you’ve requested. We do use some third-party services to run our applications and only to the extent necessary process some or all of your personal information via these third parties. Having subprocessors means we are using technology to access your data. No Basecamp human looks at your data for these purposes unless an error occurs that stops an automated process from working and requires manual intervention to fix. These are rare cases and when they happen, we look for root cause solutions as much as possible to avoid them from reoccurring. We also use some other processors for other business functions, which include Stripe for credit card payments, Amazon Web Services (AWS) for global-scale infrastructure, and Pusher for realtime notification services.

To help you troubleshoot or squash a software bug, with your permission. If at any point we need to access your account to help you with a Support case, we will ask for your consent before proceeding.

To investigate, prevent, or take action regarding restricted uses. Accessing a customer’s account when investigating potential abuse is a measure of last resort. We have an obligation to protect the privacy and safety of both our customers and the people reporting issues to us. We do our best to balance those responsibilities throughout the process. If we do discover you are using our products for a restricted purpose, we will report the incident to the appropriate authorities.

When required under applicable law. We are a US company and all data infrastructure are located in the US.

How we secure your data

All data is encrypted via SSL/TLS when transmitted from our servers to your browser. Databases and database backups are also encrypted.

What happens when you delete data in your product accounts

In many of our applications, we give you the option to trash data. Anything you trash on your product accounts will no longer be accessible via the application and are deleted from our active servers within the next 30 days. We also have some backups of our application databases, which are kept for up to another 30 days. In total, when you trash things in our applications, they are purged within 90 days from all of our systems and logs. Retrieving data for a single account from a backup is cost-prohibitive and unduly burdensome so if you change your mind you’ll need to do so before your data are deleted from our active servers.

We also delete your data after an account is cancelled. In this case, there is no period of data being kept and all your data will be permanently and immediately deleted upon your Date of Termination. Refer to our Terms of Service for further details.

Changes & questions

We may update this policy as needed to comply with relevant regulations and reflect any new practices. When changes are made, they will be publicly posted here on the company's website. It is your responsibility to periodically check this page for updates. If you have questions, please click help from within the application or send an email to support@factorysense.io.